Coconut cake

Mother’s Day 2011 was the first time I attempted to bake a cake. I was bored of buying the same ole chocolates and flowers combo each year for my mama. With passion and gusto I ventured into the kitchen to bake my mum the best cherry bakewell cake EVER!

How wrong was I?!

The cake was slanted and didn’t rise too well. I learnt a valuable lesson on the importance of cooling a cake. My enthusiasm to decorate the cake fresh from the oven resulted in jam gushing down the sides like molten lava. Finally, literally the icing of the cake was a watery sugary dripping mess!

Even though the cake looked interesting, it actually tasted really good and I kinda enjoyed the process.

That mini disaster ignited my passion for baking and decorating cakes. Looking back at my 1st creation, it’s crazy to see how far I’ve come!

Coconut cake is one of my mum’s favourites so it’s only right to create this  delightful treat for Mother’s Day.

Here’s how to recreate this flavoursome yet moist cake at home!

IMG_0925

All you guys further afield who celebrate this day on May 8, note this recipe down and recreate for your Mothers then.

Coconut cake 

Cake ingredients

225g self raising flour

225g caster sugar

225g unsalted butter, softened

4 medium eggs

50g desiccated coconut

150ml coconut milk

3 tablespoons strawberry jam

1 teaspoon baking powder
Coconut buttercream

60g unsalted butter, softened

400g icing sugar

50ml coconut milk

Preheat the oven to 180˚C, gas mark 4.

Grease the tin* and line the base and sides with baking parchment.

*These measurements can be used to make a cake using 2 x 8inch sandwich tins. I chose to use a deep 7in baking tin as I wanted to make a cake JUST for my mum and so that she didn’t need to share with anyone ☺️.

Put the coconut milk and desiccated coconut in a small saucepan. Bring just to the boil, then turn off the heat; set aside to cool for 20 minutes.

IMG_0902I know it doesn’t look inspiring but wait on me yo! This is what alleviates this cake from coconut cake to COCONUT CAKE!
Cream the butter and sugar in a bowl with electric beaters for 3-4 minutes until light and fluffy.

IMG_0903

 

Beat in the eggs, one at a time, until well combined, then beat in the coconut milk and desiccated coconut mixture. Fold through the flour and baking powder, then put mixture in tin and bake for 45 minutes until golden and risen.

IMG_0911
In a mixing bowl, beat the butter and the icing sugar for a few minutes. The mixture will be ready when it resembles sand. Beat in the coconut milk and desiccated coconut; chill the icing for 30 minutes.

I use a bread knife to carefully slice deep cake into half. Place one of the cakes on a plate, spread over half the raspberry jam, then cover the other cake with a layer of buttercream.

IMG_0915

Cover the top with buttercream; slice and serve.

IMG_0927Yay! Jam is not leaking onto cake board

I decorated the top of the cake with some delicious chocolate hearts from Hotel Chocolat

IMG_0920Look at this beaut! Mama is going to be proud.

I’m off to make a special delivery to my mum, this should surely catapult me to become favourite daughter eh?!

Wishing  all you yummy UK mummies a wonderful Mother’s Day.

Angela x

Leave a Reply

